Skip to content

ATTENTION PARENTS! don’t tattoo your children…

January 5, 2010

I just saw this story on CNN and all I can say is HOLY SHIT!  By far the best part of this video is the mother’s shocked disbelief at why “this has gotten blowed [sic] up so big.”   Really lady? Seriously? I mean I guess I can see where she’s coming from.  When I was 10 years old all I wanted for my birthday was a GI-JOE, some Transformers, and a prison tattoo.  Furthermore, the kids wanted the tattoos.  How can I argue with that impenetrable logic?  It’s just like when I was in 3rd grade and my friend Christopher told me that he was going to ask his parents to let him take steroids so he could dress as Rambo for Halloween.  What did his parents do?  They let him of course.  How could they not?  What 8 year old isn’t mentally equipped to understand the vagaries and potential health hazards of taking steroids?

So in the end, I really don’t see how anyone could fault these parents for giving their children what they want.  After all I have yet to meet a person between the ages of 10 and 16 that isn’t fully cognizant of the permanence of tattoos.

My hat’s off to you mom and dad, nice job not buckling to those silly laws and social mores.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 11:09 am

    Along that same vein, kids have been held unaccountable for their actions for way too long. Let’s scrap the juvenile justice system and try ’em all as adults. Maybe lower the conscription age to 8 or 10 too. No free passes!

  2. January 6, 2010 11:57 am

    I agree Lucas, the Christians had it right with that children’s crusade thing. Good call.

  3. iscopem permalink
    January 13, 2010 9:19 pm

    If one of my kids ever got a tattoo, I’d cut them out of my will!!

    • January 14, 2010 10:35 am

      Thanks for contributing dad. I guess I’ll just have to roll the dice on that one.

  4. Michael permalink
    January 17, 2010 8:37 pm

    Iscopem … That is just awesome. Gabe I know where you get your sense of humor from.

Leave a Reply

